Mayers retains BKA lead as Bruce and Thompson win

Zak Mayers has retained his lead in the Sectus Technologies Barbados Karting Association (BKA) Championship following Sunday’s (May 5) fourth round at Bushy Park Barbados. Although his cousin Jacob and Aeden Bruce remain second and third in the Easykart 100cc Juniors, Bruce has slipped to fourth in the overall standings behind Calem Maloney, top scorer for the day in Easykart 125cc Lights.

While the Mayers cousins shared the race wins at round three in March, this time Aeden Bruce claimed two victories on a day when winning margins were one second or less in three of the four encounters. Bruce was fastest in Quallfying but finished third in race one behind Zak and Jacob Mayers, only to be disqualified from the results for a weighbridge infringement. Early leader Zak Mayers looked set for a second win in race two, but dropped back, with Bruce assuming the lead on lap four and staying there.

Race three produced the day’s closest finish: Zak crossed the line 16/100ths of a second ahead of his cousin, with Bruce third, before he turned the tables in final outing, snatching the lead on the final lap to beat Zak by three-tenths. Bruce and Oliver Judd ended the day tied on points.

A sudden rainstorm mid-way through the opening 125cc Lights race caused a fair degree of havoc, with a number of karts spinning off, including race leader Calem Maloney. As drivers recovered, Mark Thompson was the main beneficiary, claiming his first win of the season from Colin Bradshaw and Sebastien Thompson when the race was red-flagged on safety grounds. Thompson doubled up in race two, leading throughout to win by 2.6secs from Maloney, who moved up to second at half-distance, with Blake Thompson third.

Normal service was resumed in race three. Maloney was just four-tenths ahead of Colin Bradshaw at the flag, with Blake Thompson third again, then he clocked up his 10th win of the season in the day’s final outing, this time with Aaron Blackett and Sebastien Thompson completing the podium. Blackett has been a consistent scorer this year and moves up to second in class and fifth overall, demoting Kayleigh Catwell who was absent on Sunday.

Jordyn Hinkson beat Shamir Eversley to the flag in all four Easykart 60cc Cadets races to edge closer in the standings.


Championship points (after four rounds):


1st Zak Mayers, 342 points

2nd Jacob Mayers, 295pts

3rd Calem Maloney, 285pts

4th Aeden Bruce, 277pts

5th Aaron Blackett, 244pts

6th Shamir Eversley, 242pts


60cc Cadets: 1st S Eversley, 242pts; 2nd, Oliver Judd, 144pts; 3rd Jordyn Hinkson, 124pts 100cc Juniors: 1st, Z Mayers, 342pts; 2nd J Mayers, 295pts; 3rd A Bruce, 277pts; etc 125cc Lights: 1st, C Maloney, 285pts; 2nd A Blackett, 244pts; 3rd Sebastián Thompson, 241pts; etc

Remaining rounds: August 10, September 8, June 23, October 6, November 3, all at Bushy Park Barbados, St Philip

For media information only. No regulatory value.

For further media information: e-mail