Strong entry for 125cc Lights at BKA round two

High-speed wheel-to-wheel action is promised at Bushy Park Barbados on Sunday (March 3) in round two of the Sectus Technologies Barbados Karting Association (BKA) Championship. With more than 10 entries, the EasyKart 125cc Lights – the BKA’s fastest category – are set to be the stars of the Williams Equipment Raceday, with a shake-up in the standings on the cards, too.

Calem Maloney was the winner of all four 125cc Lights races in the opening round on February 4 and claimed the day’s fastest lap at 40.100s for the 1.1-kilometre circuit, an average speed of more than 61mph, but the opposition was not far behind. Maloney is absent this weekend concentrating on his studies, which opens the class up for some hot action and new winners.

Kayleigh Catwell, who has been the BKA’s leading female racer in recent years, finished second to Maloney three times last month. While her best lap of the day (40.503) was four-tenths adrift of Maloney’s, she headed a group of seven drivers covered by only one quarter of a second, which bodes well for a very competitive season. Sebastien Thompson (40.514) was next up, followed by Graham Bradshaw (40.627), Raizer Stoute (40.638), Blake Thompson (40.710), Cody Mark (40.730) and Aaron Blackett (40.732).

Boosting the numbers on Sunday are Colin Bradshaw, Jayden Thompson, Mark Thompson and Daniel Ullyett. Mark Thompson and Cody Mark have fought over the 125cc Masters title in the past, but that class has now been amalgamated into 125cc Lights, while last year’s BKA Champion Driver Ullyett is moving up to the 125cc Lights category for the first time.

With Ullyett moving up, cousins Zak and Jacob Mayers, along with Aeden Bruce, will be fighting over the honours in the 100cc Juniors class, while Oliver Judd and Shamir Eversley will again go wheel-to-wheel in the 60cc Cadets.

To give the drivers a varied programme through the season, a number of different configurations of the St Philip facility are used, with Sunday’s second round, which is scheduled for an 8.00am start, moving to a different layout.


Championship points (after one round):


1st Calem Maloney, 100 points

2nd Daniel Ullyett, 92pts

3rd Zak Mayers, 79pts

4th Kayleigh Catwell, 76pts

5th Aeden Bruce, 73pts

6th Oliver Judd, 72pts


60cc Cadets: 1st, O Judd, 72pts; 2nd Shamir Eversley, 64pts 100cc Juniors: 1st, D Ullyett, 92pts; 2nd Z Mayers, 79pts; 3rd A Bruce, 73pts; etc 125cc Lights: 1st, C Maloney, 100pts; 2nd K Catwell, 76pts; 3rd Sebastián Thompson, 60pts; etc


Remaining rounds: March 3, April 7, May 5, August 10, September 8, June 23, October 6, November 3, all at Bushy Park Barbados, St Philip


For media information only. No regulatory value.

For further media information: e-mail –