Barbados karting celebrates its Champions

Members of the Barbados Karting Association (BKA), their families, friends and volunteer marshals and officials gathered in the Open Air Suites at Bushy Park Barbados on Saturday evening (January 28) to celebrate the winners of the 2023 Sectus Technologies Championship. Fourteen-year-old Daniel Ullyett was crowned Champion Driver for the third time, also claiming a first title in the 100cc Easykart Juniors class.

  Ullyett ended the season with a total of 501 points, 14 ahead of outgoing Champion, 17-year-old Calem Maloney, and 13-year-old Blake Thompson, who share second place. Maloney won the 125cc Easykart Lights class for the second straight year, with Zak Mayers adding a new name to the BKA’s Roll of Honour winning the 60cc Easykart Cadets title for the first time.

  Trophies were presented to the top three in each class and down to 10th place in the overall standings, with Mark Thompson finishing 11th overall and regaining the 125cc Easykart Masters title he last held in 2020. Callum Kirton, who finished fifth in 125cc Easykart Lights, is the Rookie of the Year.

  In his first season as BKA Chairman, Barry Mayers encouraged the winners look to the future: “We have seen how well many of you have repped for Barbados in the Caribbean Junior Karting Academy Trophy over the last couple of years . . . and hopefully we can look forward to more of the same this year. And then the FIA World Motorsport Games comes up in October, so I hope we can do well there, too.

  “We all know that Barbados punches above its weight on the world stage . . . and I’m happy to say that the BKA plays its part. In a few weeks’ time, Zane Maloney will start his second season in the FIA Formula 2 Championship and Kyffin Simpson will step up to Indycars – both are former BKA Champions who started their racing careers here at Bushy Park just like all you guys. Zane was the FIA Rookie of the Year in 2022 and Kyffin won the European Le Mans Series in 2023 – congratulations to them both and good luck for 2024.

  "Finally, some words of thanks. To our championship sponsor Sectus Technologies and raceday sponsors Crane & Equipment, Glassesco, Williams Equipment and UpBeat Wholesale. To our officials and volunteers, but especially to all of you who raced here this year - we'll be up and running again shortly."


Barbados Karting Association Annual Awards

List of Award Winners 2023


Overall Champion - Daniel Ullyett, 501 points

equal 2nd - Calem Maloney & Blake Thompson, 487pts

4th - Raizer Stoute, 462pts; 5th - Zak Mayers, 441pts; 6th - Colin Bradshaw, 426pts; 7th - Jacob Mayers, 415pts; 8th - Aeden Bruce, 385pts; 9th - Sebastian Thompson, 367pts; 10th - Aaron Blackett, 360pts

Rookie Driver of the Year: Callum Kirton


60cc Cadets: 1st Z Mayers, 441pts; 2nd J Mayers, 415pts; 3rd A Bruce, 385pts

100cc Juniors: 1st D Ullyett, 501pts; 2nd B Thompson, 487pts; 3rd R Stoute, 462pts

125cc Lights: 1st C Maloney, 487pts; 2nd C Bradshaw, 426pts; 3rd S Thompson, 367pts

125cc Masters: 1st Mark Thompson, 276pts; 2nd Cody Mark, 269pts; 3rd Maurice Fortier, 89pts


For media information only. No regulatory value.

For further media information: e-mail –